Paper and publicity

I’ve been thinking a lot about the paper for my pamphlet. It has to be special, so that reading the pamphlet is a tactile and physical pleasure… And I wanted to buy the paper in the Northwest, keep the whole project local, and had decided on trying Marc the Printers. I’d picked up their leaflet at the Manchester Print Fair so I knew they had a big choice, including lots of recycled papers. The eco-friendly Risograph works well with recycled paper.

I set off for the train one summer’s morning with my trusty trolley. It’s not fair from Manchester Piccadilly to Edge Street in the Northern Quarter.

20170717_133416

It took me ages to choose paper and card but finally I did, both from the Evolution range. It all needed to be cut down to A4 from A3 so I went for a wander for an hour or so, and enjoyed tea in the Tea Cup in Thomas Street as well as a fab conversation with the lovely lady in the RSPCA shop who used to work in the education department of the Imperial War Museum North. She said she’d left when she hadn’t felt she was moved by the Holocaust films any more. She’d done an English Lit degree originally so we had lots to chat about…

When I returned to Marc the Printers I realised that I’d rather underestimated the quantity of paper and card I’d ordered. My trusty trolley was loaded up to overflowing, worsening a pre-existing tear in the process. The walk back to Piccadilly seemed rather long in the afternoon heat and my arms were a couple of inches longer when I finally got there. 🙂

20170717_133501

 

Next task was starting to think about publicising the launch event. I didn’t want just to do online stuff so I made a quick leaflet on the Riso to put up around town – Library, Visitors’ Centre, Heritage Centre.

20108507_1264850060308470_6279683772855905421_n

I did of course set up an event on Facebook and a ticketing page on Eventbrite, to make sure I’d covered all bases. I’m starting to look forward to it. Reading with Jo Bell is always great fun. Hope to see you there… 🙂

24 Miles Up Eventbrite pic 2

 

Leave a Reply

